Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Reborning Without Artistry Background?
Hello all.

I wanted to get some opinions on this topic. I have heard far more negative than positive, so I wanted to ask the reborning community, rather than those who have not done it.

Is it true that it is next to impossible for someone who has not had an art background...to make a realistic looking reborn? Or..do you think it is much harder, but achievable? Or..do you think no art background is necessary at all?

I ask, because I have zero background in painting anything. I tried ceramics when I was a child...that lasted a very short while. But, painting a hard, unnatural ceramic bunny is much different (imo) than working on a realistic, infantlike vinyl doll. Also, I have a passion for babies in general. I don't have kids (we have infertility issues). But...that aside, I think having a passion for babies goes a *long* way in reborning successfully. Am I wrong in that? =/

I've done crochet, needlework, and some watercolor stuff (with watercolor pencils, that is, not paint). I was successful at those, but something was missing. Success is one thing, but enjoyment is something else. I was getting nothing out of it, but frustration.

Then I saw a PBS special on reborns. After ignoring the know-it-all commentator and reporter, and just focusing on the reborns themselves, I wanted to try it. So I did, and I had the time of my life on my first one (a Berjusa or Berenguer)...honestly I don't remember which I did first, as I did both early on.

They weren't 'successful' in the art sense, as the lips on both were horrendously dark, and the rooting left a lotttt to be desired...and honestly they looked quite a bit like a child had used mum's make up drawer to paint them. Sad BUT...they were outrageously successful in the area of therapy and joy. I found myself wanting to do more, learn more, and *be* more, in the artist sense.